Skip navigation links
Home
About Rockdale City Council
About Rockdale
Development
News & Events
Online Services & Payment
Contact Us
Site Disclaimer
Council Elections
Our Town Centres
print

New Council Induction

After the elections, and once the poll has been declared, Council will be in contact with the successful candidates to arrange for their attendance at an Induction Program. It will comprise various sessions over some weeks. The aim of the Program is to ensure that all Councillors have a good understanding of their roles and responsibilities, have the necessary training and resources to fulfil those roles and the support that will be available from the Council Administration.

The indicative Induction Program is:

Saturday 15 September 9am-4pm


Sunday 16 September 10am-4pm

Induction:

  • Overview of Rockdale City Council
  • Council's services and emerging issues
  • Roles and responsibilities
  • Councillor support (fees and facilities)
  • Code of Meeting Practice
  • Integrated planning and reporting

Monday 17 September 6:30pm

Induction:

  • Ethical responsibilities
  • Code of Conduct
  • Gifts and Benefits Policy

Wednesday 19 September 6:30pm

Council Meeting (Mayoral Election)

Monday 24 September 6:30pm

Induction:

  • Planning law (building and development)

Wednesday 26 September 6:30pm

Induction:

  • Community (demographic) profile

Wednesday 3 October 6:30pm

Ordinary Council Meeting

Wednesday 10 October 6:30pm

Councillor Information Session

Saturday 13 October 8am-2:30pm

Induction:

  • City tour

Wednesday 17 October 6:30pm

Ordinary Council Meeting

Wednesday 24 October 6:30pm

Councillor Information Session

Wednesday 7 November 6:30pm

Ordinary Council Meeting

Wednesday 14 November 6:30pm

Induction:

  • Council's financial position
  • Interpreting financial statements

Wednesday 21 November 6:30pm

Ordinary Council Meeting

Wednesday 28 November 6:30pm

Councillor Information Session

Wednesday 5 December 6:30pm

Ordinary Council Meeting

 

Councillor Information Sessions are forums in which the General Manager and specialist staff brief Councillors on matters that are to be considered formally at a forthcoming Council Meeting. These sessions are not open to the public.

Enquires about the Program may be directed to the Manager - Governance and Business Services on (02) 9562 1735

 

Additional Information

Council Elections 2012
General Information
Information For Candidates

© Copyright 2017 Rockdale City Council. All right reserved.